What are Areas?

This article outlines Areas in REFLEKT Remote and how they can be used for a company.

ARTICLE OVERVIEW:

1. General Info

2. Do I need Areas?

3. How can I create and manage Areas?

4. How can I manage user access for Areas?

5. Which rights do users with multiple Areas have?

 

1. GENERAL INFO:

 

The Area functionalities (formerly known as Realms) allow easier set-up and management of remote support for multiple brands and regions.

In many cases, companies offer their products under multiple brands and are often active in multiple countries - all requiring individual remote support for each brand or region. To meet this requirement, REFLEKT Remote offers Areas.

An Area is a combination of a brand and a region (i.e. Brand One + Asia). It is a simple way to group your users and incidents inside REFLEKT Remote. When Areas are used, those users will only be visible to users within the same Area/Areas. Experts can be assigned to multiple Areas at the same time while technicians can only be assigned to one Area.

Areas allow you to group your incidents so that experts are only involved in incidents where they can provide support. For example, incidents from technicians speaking one language only appear in the incident queues of experts speaking the same language, or an expert for one product is only able to provide support on incidents for the same product.

 

2. DO I NEED AREAS?

 

Areas are a great tool for organizing support for multiple:

  • Brands
  • Regions
  • Products
  • Departments
  • Languages
  • Business units
  • Or any other criteria for grouping your support requests

Example: To picture the use case, imagine your company is a manufacturer of equipment components in different countries. Your experts are only able to speak a single language. In this case you want to have the following Areas:

(Brand + Region)

  • inOEM + Germany
  • inOEM + Spain
  • inOEM + USA
  • inOEM + Italy

 

3. HOW CAN I CREATE AND MANAGE AREAS?


Administrators can create and manage Areas in the Admin Portal. This includes adding a new Area, editing an Area as well as deleting an Area. You find detailed guides for all three functionalities via the links below:

 

4. HOW CAN MANAGE USER ACCESS FOR AREAS?

 

Administrators can assign technicians and experts to Areas as well as remove them from an assigned Area in the Admin Portal. You find detailed guides for both functionalities via the links below:

 

5. WHICH RIGHTS DO USERS WITH MULTIPLE AREAS HAVE?

In a setup with multiple Areas, an incident will always be assigned to the exact Area the creator of the incident is part of. The incident will then only be visible to the experts that are assigned to the same Area as the incident. All other experts won't be able to see and work on the incident.

In addition, Areas also define the visibility of users. Once a technician is assigned to an Area, only experts that are assigned to the same Area are able to see the technician in the app. Experts from different Areas are not able to see or add the technician to their contacts.