How do I set annotations in video sharing?

In this article you learn about the different annotations possible in video sharing during a video call.

GENERAL INFO:

 

In a video call, you can annotate in the shared video stream. Two annotation features are available:

  • Pointer Annotation
  • Drawing Annotation

For more precise annotations, use the Freeze Function to pause the video on a certain frame before annotating. 

 

ACTIVATE ANNOTATIONS - EDIT MODE:

In order to activate live annotations in a video call, tap the edit icon in the top right-hand corner.

iphone_Video_edit

NOTE: Video sharing must be activated to set annotations. To learn how to start video sharing, read here.

FREEZE FUNCTION:

 

If the video stream is frozen, annotations can be made more precisely.

To activate the freeze function during a call, tap on the freeze icon to pause the video on a certain frame. The icon will change from black and white to color.

iphone_Video_edit-1

Deselecting the freeze icon continues the video stream.

NOTE: The Freeze Function can always be activated by the participant who shares his video stream. In addition, the moderator can freeze the stream too, even if someone else is sharing it. Other participants can not freeze the video.

 

ANNOTATION TYPES:

 

POINTER ANNOTATION:

When entering the edit mode during a call, the pointer annotation is selected by default.

With the pointer annotation, you can highlight certain areas for other call participants by tapping on the video stream or a frozen image.

iphone_Video_tapped

NOTE: The pointer's color matches your participant tile color to help users identify who is pointing.

 

DRAWING ANNOTATION:

When entering the edit mode during a call, the pointer annotation is selected by default.

You can switch to the drawing annotation by tapping the draw icon at the bottom of the screen.

iphone_Video_draw

With the drawing annotation, you can highlight certain areas for other call participants by drawing on the video stream or a frozen image.

  • By clicking the arrows in the right upper corner, you can undo/redo the last annotation.
  • By clicking the trash can, you can delete all previously drawn annotations.

iphone_Video_drawn

NOTE: Your drawing color matches your participant tile color to help users identify who is drawing.