How to add/remove a participant to/from an incident?

This article informs you about incident participants and how to add them to or remove them from an incident.

INCIDENT PARTICIPANTS:

 

At least two participants have to join an incident. In most cases, these are a technician and an expert.

Technician: The person who needs guidance to fix a machine or perform a task. The technician creates an incident when help is needed, therefore he is listed as a Creator.

Expert: The person helping the technician to fix a machine or perform a task. The expert is the Owner of the incident and can forward it to other experts if needed.

NOTE: There is a limit of four participants in an incident. In case you need to add an additional participant, you must remove one of the existing participants.

 

HOW TO ADD A PARTICIPANT:

 

 

Default-Owner only

 

If you would like to invite another participant who you think could help solve the incident, you have two options to do so.

 

OPTION 1:

1. Open the chat of the incident you want to add a new participant to.

2. Tap on the three dots in the top right-hand corner of the incident chat.

iPad Incident opened options 1

3. Select View Participants.

4. Tap on the plus button in the top right-hand corner. A search box will open.

iPad Incident open search

5. Type in the name of the person you would like to add.

6. If you found the correct person, tap the + icon next to the person's name to add them.

iPad Incident add participant

7. Navigate back to the incident chat.

 

Now the person has been added to the incident and you can start communicating with them.

 

 

OPTION 2:

1. Open the chat of the incident you want to add a new participant to.

2. Tap the three dots in the top right-hand corner of the incident chat.

iPad Incident opened options 1

3. Select View Details.

4. Tap on the displayed participant number.

iPad Incident details participants

5. Continue as in Option 1.

 

Now the person has been added to the incident and you can start communicating.

 

 

HOW TO REMOVE A PARTICIPANT:

 

Default-Owner only

 

Default-Creator Owner cannot be removed

 

If a participant is not required to be part of an incident anymore, you can remove them. To do so, you have two options.

 

NOTE: The creator and owner can never be removed but the owner is able to remove participants listed as Other participants.

NOTE: Removed participants cannot access the incident messages or its files anymore (except downloaded files).

 

OPTION 1:

1. Open the chat of the incident you would like to remove a participant from.

2. Tap the three dots in the top right-hand corner of the incident chat.

iPad Incident opened options 1

3. Select View participants.

4. Tap the three dots right next to the person you would like to remove.

iPad Incident remove

5. Click Remove.

6. Navigate back.

 

Now the person has been removed from the incident and cannot contribute to the incident anymore.

 

 

OPTION 2:

1. Open the chat of the incident you would like to remove a new participant from.

2. Tap the three dots in the top right-hand corner of the incident chat.

iPad Incident opened options 1

3. Select View Details.

4. Tap the displayed participant number.

iPad Incident details participants

5. Continue as in Option 1.

 

Now the person has been removed from the incident and cannot contribute to the incident anymore.

 

If you would like to know how to handover an incident to another person, read the article here.